New Year, New challenges, New blog!

I’ve always wanted some sort of way to document and keep track of my running progress and write about what I encounter on my everyday runs, so I have arrived here. I will mostly blog about my running, the races i’m signed up to, the challenges I set myself randomly, and other things such as food, sleep, football, art, films etc etc.

I have signed up for a few races and have a few challenges in mind, they include; running Reading Half Marathon on March 2nd, Greater Manchester Marathon 6th April and then hopefully one of if not a few of the London 100k challenges, amongst other things.

My first aim is to get a Half Marathon PB at the Reading Half, which means bettering my 1.22 from last year in the Bideford Half. Ideally I would like to get nearer 1.15 however this may prove one step too far (pun intended!) as I will also be training for the Greater Manchester Marathon at the same time and therefore don’t know whether to push myself at Reading for the PB or use it as a training run and run at target Marathon pace!? hmmm (help/tips appreciated!)

My next challenge is to try and go sub 3 hours at the Greater Manchester Marathon. I would love to do sub 3 because that is “the golden time” to achieve and to do that for my first full marathon would be great. I also want to beat this time so that I can get a “good for age” place for London in 2015, good motivating factor that! I’m in the middle of upping the miles, and did a 22 miler on Xmas day and a 23.5 miler today so will then try and go the full distance soon and then work on goal pace throughout the next few months. I don’t have a specific training plan at the moment but I will tend to do longer runs now, as was mainly doing 10 or so milers mixed in with a few 5k & 10ks in December. I will also be helping other people with their training plans and be taking part in the Adidas 26ers through working at the inspiring, one and only London Marathon Store.

I’m going into 2014 in probably the best shape i’ve been in after completing a little challenge I set myself for December. To keep myself motivated through the last month of the year I decided to attempt 300 miles running, so almost 10 miles a day on average. I thoroughly enjoyed this challenge, mainly because it made running a big priority for me and also made me appreciate how important eating the right food and getting the right amount of sleep can be etc. Making running part of my everyday routine has been fun and meant that some days i’ve had to set my alarm for 5ish to get the miles in. Having that target of 300 miles to do drove me on and in the back of my head I knew that this would be beneficial in getting base miles/fitness in prep for Reading and Manchester in 2014. I’m pleased to say I completed this challenge on the 29th of December with no injuries and not feeling as if it was a massive struggle. Another factor that helped me motivate myself throughout this challenge was some of the views I got to take in whilst running around my new location of London.

Image

My regular route is along Regents Canal, Victoria Park and I now tend to mix it up more on longer runs, so to go over London Bridge and Tower Bridge etc to take in the sights. The challenge was also made easier by running with people and to and from work, so getting miles in when I could. I have met some awesome people in London aswell, mainly through run clubs and work. Image

Meeting people that are; training for Marathon des Sables, doing 100s of Marathons, doing the first 6 London Marathons and coming 6th in one of them and now walking 6000 miles has been truly inspiring. I tend to listen to people talk about their running and goals and think they are crazy but in the back of my head I know I will be doing those same races/events at some point in the future. I love the running community and the way everyone wants to help each other reach their goals and/or better themselves in any shape or form. On the other hand I also like to go for a run on my own at times, listen to some music (normally drum & bass courtesy of Hospital records/Med school etc) and go into my own little world. There’s a certain euphoria about running at a certain speed and for it to feel comfortable and relaxing, you have no worries apart from putting one foot in front the other. I probably have a number of reasons for why I run but I will get into those on another occasion.

I have probably covered quite alot in this first blog and may not even need to ever blog again! ha but I would like to finish by saying that today whilst I was out on my run in the cold, wind and rain I was running along Regents Canal when a “hobo” saw me. He started mimicking running and was smiling, I gave him the old thumbs up and he laughed and smiled. I carried on running with a smile on my face and these interactions with people are what make running amazing, it was his way of showing support and this carried me on for the rest of my run!

Till next time

Steve

8 thoughts on “New Year, New challenges, New blog!”

    1. Thanks Sarah, wasn’t entirely sure what to write but will be more specific in future. Glad you’re inspired by what i’m up to/scheming, not sure I would call it phenomenal but i’m enjoying it and I hope the running goes well for you in 2014.

    1. Thanks Auntie Hannah, Me and Tilly will definitely have to run London or another race together at some point in the future, would be amazing!! Good to hear I may inspire her slightly, want her to know/think she can achieve or do whatever she puts her mind to because she can whether its through running, hockey, football, or any other sport for that matter! or school work!

  1. great read Steve look forward to following you step by step…running is awesome although I am so much slower snd older then you. Xx

    1. Thanks Liz, really appreciate that and glad you enjoyed the read! will post frequently throughout 2014 and it’s good to share my journey with everyone and also try to help others if possible. Yes running is awesome, it’s not about speed or age in my eyes, it’s just about doing it for the reasons you’re doing it for and enjoying it thats all. Hope it’s going well, bet your excited for the London Marathon!? X

Leave a Reply

