My Ruby Run return

20140609-083028.jpg

This weekend I was back in Devon for only the second time in 7/8 months. I used the Ruby Run Half Marathon as a good excuse to get back and see family for a couple days. On the Saturday me, my sister Sar and her boyfriend Greg travelled back from Bath straight to Bude to see my little cousin Tilly smash her triathlon. She finished in second place in her age group and had a really strong finish on the run so I’m sure she will continue to do really well in triathlons and all the other sports she does. After watching the triathlon last week in Hyde park, and then watching my cousin I have been inspired to do them at some point in the future as it looks “fun”! (Fun as in pushing your body to its absolute limits!)

After watching Tilly we headed into Bude, first stop had to be for a pasty!! This is what I would like to think of as good carb loading for the half marathon. Over the whole weekend I was spoilt with food. At gran and grandads were loads of biscuits, at Auntie Kaths was an awesome walnut cake, on the Saturday evening we had Chinese and on Sunday after the run we had all my favourites like potato pasty! Ha this weekend I probably took carb loading to another level!

20140609-084023.jpg

I had been looking forward to this half marathon for a long time mainly because I wanted to run over the hills and through the trees again. I had run this half marathon twice before with my uncle so I knew it was up and down however I think I forgot just how much. The course starts on a hill and the first couple miles of incline are pretty tough but once you get going and your achilles know what they’re doing it was ok. Similarly to the BUPA 10k I ran without a watch so I was pacing it by feel again. I started off pretty quickly as I tend to do but did well to maintain a good pace. I was running alongside Neil who I had met before through working at Waitrose and we both ran pretty much the whole way together taking it in turns to be infront. This was good as we both pushed each other on. In the end I had a little more left and had a strong finish up the hill into Hatherleigh to finish in a time just over 1:21 in 6th. Well done to Neil for why was a great run and I believe that was his first half in 5 years, really good going! Also well done to Paul Piper who although didn’t achieve a PB that he wanted he ran a strong race in what was tough conditions. Sure you will smash Berlin!

20140609-084123.jpg

20140609-084153.jpg

I wouldn’t have got the time I did if it wasn’t for my awesome support team!! When I was running up a hill and struggling for motivation, along whizzed a car and along with it a shout of “Come on Steve!!” (Once which made me jump!) so thank you so much. My supporters included as always Mum, Sar, Greg, Auntie Hannah, Uncle Andrew, Eliza and Tilly. My Auntie Kath, Uncle Dave, Sam and Bex made it along to cheer me on aswell and this was awesome as they had been wanting to watch me play football or run for ages. My support crew also included my sisters boyfriends sister Carrie and mum Debbie and their cheering/support was awesome, I saw them every mile or so and that was a great help on what is a quiet course. It was also hard work because it was quite warm and we were running into wind quite a lot. This is why I’m so happy with a time that is just about a minute over PB.

Overall a great trip down to Devon and something I wish I could do a lot more often.

Really looking forward to Run Hackney which should be fun! Before that though I have some “rest” time and I will be learning some circus skills later this week so if I stop posting so much about running soon the circus has signed me up!

Steve

X

Leave a Reply

