A Mile and a Half

On Sunday I ran the Run Hackney Half Marathon and the City of London Mile.

My preparation for Run Hackney was good and bad. Recently I have made more of an effort to taper, similarly to before the Ruby Run I only ran a couple of times during the week. This was also due to sale prep at work and generally being pretty busy. In the last couple of weeks when I have been able to run I have been running up and down some hills in Greenwich Park which has been good.

20140624-083736.jpg

On Sunday the weather was pretty hot! It was probably the hottest conditions I’ve ever ran in but thankfully there were quite a few water stations and a couple of those mist/shower things even though I missed the first one at mile 8.

The course was pretty good, a bit up and down but reasonably quick. Had it been a cooler day I would like to think I would have PBd. However taking into consideration my not so great preparation and the heat I was really pleased to cross the line in 1:21:56, 1m19s off PB.

20140624-084638.jpg

As you can see I ran a positive split in a pretty big way but I was always going to tire nearer the end and tend to go off a bit quicker than maybe I should. Something I want to work on soon is pace, I’m wanting to get some shorter distance sessions and hill training in soon.

Something I thought was a clever thing to do was to sign up to the City of London Mile on the same day as Run Hackney. After crossing the Half Marathon finish line I immediately regretted this but I shuffled my way to Leyton and stretched on the tube. There were a couple of reasons I still wanted/needed to do the mile, I love a good medal and I had never ran a mile race before so wanted to see what it was like.

I arrived in good time so was able to watch some of the elites and there was such a buzz seeing some epic sprint finishes, well the whole things a sprint I guess. I really enjoyed the mile once I’d got through the first couple of strides and loosened up a little. It was a good flat route and the atmosphere at the finish line was awesome albeit it was a reasonably small free event (compared to Run Hackney). I finished in a time of 5:42 which I was surprised to see and am happy with, again considering the conditions and having just done the Half.

20140624-085744.jpg

After the post half marathon “cool down” I was pleased to receive a nice goodie bag and the medal is awesome! Well worth the effort making it across. Plus it was the first time the event has been run so nice to get the first medal and i’m sure there will be many more. I enjoyed running the distance and want to do more mile races soon hopefully with fresh legs next time.

20140624-090139.jpg

My medal collection is growing and so far this year I have run some big events including 1 mile, 10k, half marathon & marathon distances which has been good. I need to book some more races soon and I’m very open to recommendations. Next up is the British 10k and then the 5 mile Anniversary run in July.

I hope everyone had a good weekend of running!

Steve

X

Leave a Reply

