Catch up

I have been struggling for time recently but thought it was about time I wrote about what I’ve been up to in the last few weeks.

I’ll start with the British 10k. This was a couple of weeks back and I wasn’t expecting anything special in terms of time due to lack of specific training and the number of people on the course. The first couple of kilometers were pretty busy and it was frustrating weaving in and out to get through the crowd. However, once I found some room I really enjoyed this run. I often run around iconic London sights when running and exploring on my days off but this was special being able to run on the roads being cheered on by the awesome crowds! Days like that make me more excited for when my turn to run the London Marathon comes. Overall I had a pretty decent run finishing in just over 38 minutes which made me 19th overall which I was surprised to see.

20140726-001741.jpg
Pretty happy with this medal!!

I also recently took part in the National Lottery Anniversary Run which was a 5 miler around the Olympic Park. This was a pretty cool (not in temperature!!) run, Chris Hoy started the race and it was good to go on a tour of the Park thinking about all the epic events that took place a couple years ago. I got goosebumps nearing the finish line as commentary from 2012 was played out and the crowd was awesome again. I had another solid run considering I had run 18 miles on the Saturday. I finished in a time of 30:13. I was disappointed not to go sub 30 but finished in 21st position and in hot conditions and without doing any training I can’t really complain with that.

20140726-002706.jpg

20140726-002807.jpg
Another medal for the collection!

Due to running the Anniversary Run I got entry into the Sainsbury Anniversary Games. I have only ever really watched some athletics on TV so thought this would be good to get inspired. It was amazing to see all the athletes competing and I particularly enjoyed the men’s 2 mile race and the women’s 1 mile race on the mall. They are rapid!! It was also great to see the men’s 100m A race and see how fast it is to run sub 10 seconds.

20140726-003259.jpg

20140726-003320.jpg

20140726-003349.jpg

So overall a busy couple of weeks with a few events. Next for me is the Run Through Richmond Park Half Marathon on the 3rd of August and I’m hoping to get some decent miles in between now and then. Then I’ll be looking to up the miles and speed gearing up for the Royal Parks Half and hopefully Nottingham Marathon. Just the small matter of a trip to Rio and maybe Boston in amongst that!

I hope all your running is going well.

Steve

X

Leave a Reply

