2016 races, goals and adventures 

It’s been a little while since I last blogged. The last few weeks of 2015 flew by due to running a lot motivated by Advent Running and celebrating Christmas & New Years with friends and family. Now we are well into 2016 and training for the big races in March and April. Last year was a great year, I managed to achieve some big goals and run consistently whilst mixing it up running on road, track and trails. I am really excited to see what I can do in 2016 because I am in the best shape I’ve been in going in to marathon training. Last year I got myself in PB shape from January 1st to April when I did the Brighton Marathon and therefore it will be interesting to see how much fitter and quicker I can get by going to track and doing big mileage in the next couple of months. Now that I have run sub 1:20 for a half and sub 3 for a marathon I need to set some new goals.

The second half of last year I ran and raced a lot but once I’d gone sub 3 at the Thames Meander Marathon I didn’t set any goals for other races. However, by running at track regularly and doing pretty decent mileage I managed to chip away at my 5k and 10k times. My current PBs are:

  1 mile: 5:02 (City of London Mile 2015)

  5k: 16:31 (Run Through Battersea Park 10k 2015)

  10k: 34:58 (Mo Santa Olympic Park 10k thingy 2015)

 Half Marathon: 1:17:01 (Reading Half 2015)

 Marathon: 2:54:56 (Thames Meander Marathon 2015)

 100k: 13:28:00 (Race to the Stones 2015)

I always find it hard to set new goals. When people have asked me what time I would like to run the London Marathon in I have been replying “I’m not sure!” The main reason I respond like this is because I am still relatively new to running on track. I’m not sure how much quicker I can get or how long it will take to get to a certain time. Once I’ve said “I’m not sure” the person asking always says “If you’ve done 2:54, surely you’ll be aiming for 2:45!?” I normally then reply “we’ll see!” Another reason I struggle to set goal times is that I don’t follow a training plan. I like to mix it up and keep it fun but generally my week will consist of track, a quick run, a fair few steady mid-distance runs and a long run. In the next few weeks I may add a parkrun or hill session on a Saturday but it’ll depend what races I’m close to as I have a fair few lined up. Below is a list of the races I’m signed up to and I’ve set a few goals for various distances:

Run Through Battersea Park 10k – 16/01/16 (Would be happy with anything around 36/37 minutes)

Trailscape South Marathon – 23/01/16 (No time in mind, probably high mileage week)

Old Deer Park Half Marathon – 21/02/16 (1:21 last year. I’d like to go sub 1:20 this year)

Essex 20 – 06/03/16 (Fair bit slower than marathon pace)

Cardiff World Half Marathon – 26/03/16 (Sub 1:15, may be a little ambitious)

Paris Marathon – 03/04/16 (Steady as recovering from Cardiff and gearing up for London)

London Marathon – 24/04/16 (2:45 – 2:50 ideally but depends how much Cardiff & Paris take out of me)

City of London Mile – ??/??/?? (Sub 5 minutes)

Zagori Marathon – 22-24/07/16 (Aim – to survive!)

I’m really looking forward to these races; it’s been a while since I’ve pushed myself and aimed for times. Once I’ve done a couple of races and track sessions this year my goal times will probably change a bit. As well as quite a few big races I have some adventures planned. I’m really looking forward to the Paris marathon as there is a big group of us going and it’ll be great to do some sightseeing (there’ll probably be a few drinks celebrating some of the group’s first marathons!) after the race. We also have trips to Germany and Greece planned, we’ll be doing some trail running in the Black Forest in June and in July I, Lorna, Michalis & Freya will be heading to Greece to take part in the North Face Zagori Marathon. Lorna and I are going to do the race and then spend a few days exploring Greece which will be really nice.

I hope everyone had a great Christmas and New Years and that your training is going well. See a lot of you soon whether it be at track, running along the river, out on some trails or at a race. 

Steve

Leave a Reply

