Colchester Half Marathon 2016

On Sunday 13th March I took part in the Colchester Half. I signed up because Lorna and her brothers, Alex and Rob, were taking part. Before heading to Essex I decided to do a “shakeout” parkrun on the Saturday morning. I’ve now learnt that I’m too competitive to do a parkrun as a shakeout. I went to my local parkrun, Mile End. I was planning to run it in around 20 minutes or so but that plan soon went out the window. Having done decent mileage in the week and the Essex 20 miler the previous weekend my legs were feeling pretty heavy but I set out at a quick pace and just decided to try and hold it. I managed to finish in a course PB time of 16:59 in second place (parkrun is NOT a race though!). Immediately after the parkrun I was feeling happy with myself as I’d achieved a good time but at the same time I was thinking “I’m going to pay for this in the half marathon tomorrow”.

After the parkrun I packed my stuff and headed for the train to Colchester. Once I arrived, Lorna, Rob and I went straight to Nandos, perfect for post run and carb-loading for the race ha. We then did a spot of shopping before heading back to Lorna’s parents’ house to chill before the big day. On Sunday we woke up at about 7 o’clock. The race started at 9am so we had a good amount of time to have breakfast and get to Colchester Community Stadium where the race would start and finish. Being their local half marathon Lorna, Alex and Rob knew the route and gave me an in depth description of what the course was like. When we did a shakeout run post Essex 20 on Tuesday Lorna showed me where the hills were so I knew what I was going to have to tackle. At breakfast Alex walked into the kitchen at about 7:30 in full race kit with his number pinned on. Lorna and I knew he was well and truly up for the race. Alex and Lorna have done lots of races together and finished pretty close together, this was another chance to renew their rivalry. Having been following Alex on Strava we knew he was in good shape and had been training hard, having done a casual 1:32 half marathon a couple of weeks ago and doing hill sprints with Robbie Smith etc.

With race numbers pinned on and timing chips on our trainers we headed to the stadium. We dropped off our bags and were ready to run. On the start line my legs were feeling a little heavy, probably due to running the hilly Essex 20 at close to marathon pace the previous Sunday, doing pretty big mileage in the week and pushing it a bit at parkrun. The weather was perfect, nice and cool and the sun was shining so the crowds were out in force. I headed to the start line and after a short wait we were off. Knowing that the first 4k or so was slightly downhill I set off at close to 3:30min/km pace. This was to counterbalance the pace I would be running up the hills. The first 3k went to plan clocking: 3:30, 3:31, 3:23.

After this there were a few hills to contend with so my pace dropped to between 3:40 and 3:50 for a few kilometres. Around 7k into the race whilst running up hill I struggled with a stitch but managed to hold a decent pace.

With 10k or so to go I caught up with a man running in a green club vest. He matched my pace so we had a quick chat about marathons we were training for. He said how he’d done London in 2:50 last year and he asked what races I had lined up. It was good to have someone to run with as the last 5k or so was down a really long straight road. We kept pushing each other on. Luckily Lorna’s parents’ house is on the long home stretch so I was cheered on by Bob (Lorna’s dad), Phil (her brother) and Lidia (Phils fiancée).

It was nice to have people around the course cheering, earlier on in the race I had ran passed Ray (Lorna’s sister, who works for the main sponsor of the race so was marshalling) and Robbie Smith, who I met when I went on the Colchester running club Winterton training weekend. With 2k to go myself and the club runner picked up our pace, he surged and went in front for a while then I did the same. With 1k to go I started to up the pace a little more and could tell he was tiring as he was breathing a bit heavier. I decided to try and open up a little gap and try and hold on. With 400m or so to go I thought I’d moved in front too early but I managed a small sprint finish to beat him by about 10 seconds. I finished in 7th place in 1:16:28. Considering I’d run the Essex 20 miler in 2:03 the previous Sunday, done decent mileage in the week and finished Mile End parkrun in 16:59 on Saturday I was really happy with that result. I nipped straight to the bag drop to pick up my stuff before cheering Team Elliott through the finish line. When I went to pick up my bag the volunteers all clapped me in. There wasn’t anyone else around so they probably thought I’d finished first ha. That was a nice moment; it’s amazing how much time volunteers give up to make events like Colchester Half happen. With my big puffer jacket on to keep warm I made my way to the finishing straight. I was faffing around with my bags etc not expecting to see anyone for a few minutes but then I looked up and there was Alex flying through the finish. I knew he wanted to beat Lorna and run about 1:30 but I didn’t know he was going to do 1:27. He smashed it.

A couple of minutes later and Lorna came through the finish. She finished in a new PB time of 1:31 and again having done the Essex 20 miler (5 minutes quicker than before) she tore it up. Really proud of her and looking forward to running the Paris Marathon together. We then cheered Rob on. He was aiming to run sub 1:50 but similarly to Al and Lorna he beat his goal time by a few minutes, he finished in 1:46 knocking a good couple minutes off his PB. On a pretty hilly course Team Elliott destroyed it.

 Alex was really humble about beating Lorna and smashing his PB haha


The bling

7th man and 7th lady!

After the race we cheered other runners in before heading to Three Wise Monkeys for food. It’s fair to say I treated myself:

The rest of the day we chilled out and then made our way back to London. This week I’m aiming to do decent mileage before having a week long taper for Cardiff Half, can’t wait for that race. Well done to everyone that ran and raced over the weekend, I’ve seen lots of great times posted on social media over the last few days.

See a lot of you soon

Steve

Leave a Reply

