The Run Through Chase The Sun Battersea Park 10k

On the 14th of September I took part in the Run Through Chase The Sun Battersea Park 10k. I wasn’t planning on racing in this event but decided to get a late race entry on the evening. The initial plan was to run from work to Battersea Park to watch and cheer on Michalis and Lorna running the 10k. Michalis is training for the Athens Marathon and was using the race to gauge his fitness and as Lorna runs at a similar pace she was going to pace him. Unfortunately after running at Track on Tuesday Lorna picked up an injury and was unable to take part but we were still going along to cheer him on. As I hadn’t raced in a while I decided it would be good to see where my fitness was.


It was a nice evening for it.

Having not ran at track or done decent mileage consistently over the last couple of months I knew I wouldn’t be anywhere near my PB. Add to that the fact I had done the work run club at lunchtime (8k) and ran to Battersea Park (10k) then I couldn’t expect a super quick time. However, I thought it would be a good test of my fitness to try and do a quick 10k having done track the previous day and a fair few miles in the day. I decided I would pace myself to try and aim for 36 minutes. Having done a Run Through Battersea Park 10k before I knew the route was nice and flat and that there weren’t many corners to slow me down. Before the start I was excited to be racing again after a while off. Having picked up my race number and dropped my bag off, Michalis and I went for a little jog to warm up. I was already pretty well warmed up from the run across the city. Before we knew it we were off, I started on 36 minute pace and felt comfortable over the first lap. It was good to see friendly faces on the route, David Gardiner was marshalling so I saw him on the first corner every lap and Lorna was positioned just after the bandstand so it was nice to have her there cheering me on and taking snaps.

As the laps went by my legs were tightening and it became harder to stay on 36 minute pace, the last two laps were especially hard. I was feeling the effects of track the previous day but after all it was the plan to push it and see what I could do on tired legs. Over the last couple of kilometres I eased up as I didn’t want to risk an injury so close to the Cologne Marathon. I managed to finish in 4th in 36:20 which I was really happy with, I thought I had lost more fitness since the London Marathon.

After crossing the line I picked up a drink, some flapjack and this cool medal:

 Lorna and I then cheered Michalis through the line. He ran through the finish looking really strong, smashing his PB. Over the last few months he has put in great training, I’m excited to see what he can do in the Athens Marathon in a few weeks. A massive shout out has to go to Paul Piper who won the 5k in 15:49, rapid! Also Martin White who I run with at The Running Works Run Club ran really well clocking 18:31 on tired legs having raced loads over the last couple of months.

Overall it was a productive and enjoyable Wednesday evening. I always enjoy the Run Through events. They are well organised, the route in Battersea Park is perfect for a fast time and the goodies at the finish line are great. If you haven’t done any of their races before I definitely recommend you check out what they’ve got coming up, no doubt they will be organising a race in a park/area near you in the not too distant future. Their website is: http://www.runthrough.co.uk. I will be trying to make it to more of their events soon.

Hope everyone’s running is going well. See a lot of you soon

Steve

Leave a Reply

